Claudio Slon - Verve Records




Various Artists, "Next Stop Wonderland" (Movie Soundtrack), Verve #3145575502 (1998).[CD]

Includes Claudio Slon, drums - on track "Stay" (Astrud Gilberto).


Antonio Carlos Jobim, "Antonio Carlos Jobim's Finest Hour", Verve #490 669 (1999).[CD Compilation]
Antonio Carlos Jobim, "Antonio Carlos Jobim's Finest Hour", Verve #62809 (2001).[CD Compilation]


The Girl From Ipanema
Agua De Beber
O Morro Nao Tem Vez
Samba De Uma Nota So
Chega De Saudade
Um Rancho Nas Nuvens
Aguas De Marco
Inutil Paisagem
Looks Like December

Personnel:  Antonio Carlos Jobim (piano, harpsichord, celeste, guitar); Claus Ogerman (conductor); Joao Gilberto (vocals, guitar); Eumir Deodato (conductor, acoustic & electric pianos); Astrud Gilberto, Elis Regina (vocals); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Burt Collins, Marvin Stamm (trumpet); Josef Singer, Ray Alonge (French horn); Jimmy Cleveland, Urbie Green, Garnett Brown (trombone); Leo Wright, Ray Beckenstein, Romeo Penque, Jerome Richardson, Joe Farrell, Hubert Laws (flute); Tommy Williams, George Duvivier, Ron Carter, Richard Davis (bass); Dom Um Romao (percussion), Bobby Rosengarden (percussion), Claudio Slon (drums), Airto Moriera (percussion); Milton Banana (drums).

Producers: Aloysio De Oliveira, Paulo Jobim, Jaques Morelenbaum, Claus Ogerman, Creed Taylor.

Compilation producer: Bryan Koniarz.

Originally recorded between 1963 and 1986. Includes liner notes by Linda Dahl.

Digitally remastered by Jeff Willens (Universal Mastering Studios-East).

This is part of the Verve Finest Hour series.


Various Artists, "A Trip To Brazil: Bossa, Samba & Beyond", Verve #545 475-1 (2000).[2-LP Compilation Set]

This 2-LP set which contains material from A Trip to Brazil and A Trip to Brazil, Volume 2, includes the following tracks on which Claudio Slon plays drums:

"Summer Samba" from the Rain Forest album by The Walter Wanderley Trio (Claudio Slon, drums) as well as "The Crickets Sing for Anamaria" from Marcos Valle's Samba '68 album (Claudio Slon, drums).

In his liner notes, Mr. DeSouteiro wrote the following:

After watching Valle's appearance on the Andy Williams TV show in the summer of 1966, Merv Griffin became a fan instantly. He persuaded Verve to sign him, and the result was Samba '68, arranged by Deodato. It is the one and only album recorded by Valle in the USA (his first USA release, "Braziliance!", commended by Warner in 1965, had been recorded in Rio). From the mid-'80s onwards, this track became a big hit in the acid-jazz dancefloor scene, with the percussion batucada break being sampled by many pop acts, including Deee-Lite's Towa Tei.

Compilation produced by Arnaldo DeSouteiro.

Sm-lobo.JPG  smendes-c.jpg
[Original LP]

[Verve By Request CD Reissue]

Edu Lobo, "Sergio Mendes Presents Lobo", Verve By Request, [U.S.] #314 543 486-2 (2000).[CD]

Other issues of this album are listed separately under their respective record labels.


Even Now
Crystal Illusions
Casa Forte
Sharp Tongue
To Say Goodbye
Hey Jude

Personnel: Edú Lobo--Guitar, Vocals; Airto Moreira--Percussion; Hermeto Pascoal--Piano; Claudio Slon--Drums.

Produced by Sergio Mendes.


Various Artists, "Passport to Brazil", Verve #543 594 (2000).[CD Compilation]

Contains Edu Lobo's "Ponteio" on which Claudio Slon plays drums.

[U.S. CD]

Bossanova-st-brb.jpg  Bossanova-st-br.jpg
[Brazilian CD]

Various Artists, "Bossa Nova" (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), Verve #314 543 714-2 (2000).[CD]
Various Artists, "Bossa Nova" (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), Verve/Universal [Brazil] #73145437142 (2000).[CD]

Features the music of Antonio Carlos Jobim, with score by Eumir Deodato.

Includes the track "Wave" from the Antonio Carlos Jobim album of the same name with Claudio Slon on drums.

Astrud Gilberto, "Astrud Gilberto's Finest Hour", Verve #520 790 (2001).[CD compilation].

Includes drummer Claudio Slon on the following songs:

Goodbye Sadness

So Nice (Samba De Verano)

Who Needs Forever?

The Face I Love

Personnel includes: Astrud Gilberto (vocals); Marty Paich (arranger, conductor); Gil Evans (arranger, piano); Eumir Deodato (arranger); João Gilberto (guitar, background vocals); TootsThielemans (guitar); Bud Shank (flute); Phil Bodner, Bill Hammond, Hubert Laws, Seldon Powell, Stan Webb (woodwinds); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Bernie Glow, Jimmy Nottingham, Ernie Royal, Marvin Stamm (trumpet); Ray Alonge, Earl Chapin, Tony Miranda (French horn); Wayne Andre, Warren Covington, Urbie Green, Tony Studd (trombone); John Horn (tuba); Walter Wanderley (piano, organ); Antonio Carlos Jobim, João Donato (piano); Ron Carter, Tommy Williams, Joe Mondragon (bass); Claudio Slon, Grady Tate (drums); Alan Douglas, Bobby Rosengarden (percussion).

Recorded between 1963 & 1967. Includes liner notes by James Gavin.

Digitally remastered by Up Light (Universal Mastering Studios East).


Return to Site Index

Return to Recordings Index

Back to Home Page