From the back album cover of their 1st LP:
Sergio Mendes and Brasil '66.

Sergio Mendes - Collectables


Herbie Mann, "Do the Bossa Nova with Herbie Mann/My Kinda Groove", Collectibles, #6245 (1999).[2-in-1 CD Reissue]

Sergio Mendes and His Bossa Nova Rio Group perform on two tracks of the "Do The Bossa Nova With Herbie Mann" album.


Deve Ser Amore (It Must Be Love) (de Moraes/Powell)
Menina Feia (Ugly Girl) (Castro-Neves)
Amor Em Paz (Love in Peace) (de Moraes/Jobim)
Voce E Eu (You and I) (de Moraes/Lyra)
One Note Samba (Samba de Uma Nota So) (Jobim/Mendonca)
Blues Walk (Brown)
Consolacao (Consolation) (Powell)
Bossa Velha (Old Bossa) (Mann)
Blues in the Closet (Pettiford)
Morning After Carnival (Mann)
Vikki (Pike)
Mushi Mushi (Mann)
Soul Guajira (Corea/Mann)
Spanish Grits (Hernandez/Mann)
Saudade de Bahia (Caymmi)

Musician personnel (taken directly from the back album cover of "Do The Bossa Nova With Herbie Mann"): 

"On "Deve Ser Amor" and "Consolação" the personnel is:  Herbie Mann, flute or alto flute; Baden Powell, guitar; Gabriel, bass; Papao, drums (Deve Ser Amor) and Juquinha, drums (Consolação).
On "Menina Feia" and "Blues Walk", Herbie Mann plays with the Sergio Mendes "Bossa Nova Rio Group" (Paulo Moura, alto sax; Pedro Paulo, trumpet; Sergio Mendes, piano; Durval Ferreira, guitar; Otavio Bailly Jr., bass; Dom Um Romão, drums.
On "Amor Em Paz" & "One Note Samba" the pianist-arranger-conductor is Antonio Carlos Jobim, who also sings the vocal on "One Note Samba".
On "Voce E Eu" Herbie Mann plays with the trio of pianist Luis Carlos Vinhas.
On "Bossa Velha" Herbie Mann is accompanied by "Zezinho e sua Escola de Samba."  This 17-piece percussion group is made up of the leading Brazilian "School of Samba" musicians.  These musicians, who perform in the streets of Rio during Carnival, use all the characteristic Brazilian rhythm instruments such as cuica, tamborium, reco reco, pandeiro, frigideira, surdo, chocalho, etc."


Sergio Mendes, "The Swinger From Rio"/"The Beat of Brazil", Collectibles #COL-CD-6267 (1999).[2-in-1 CD Reissue]

Source material for this compilation:

Original LP - Sergio Mendes, "The Swinger From Rio", Atlantic #1434 (1966). This was a U.S. release of the Elenco LP Sergio Mendes, "Bossa Nova York", Elenco #_______(196_).

Original LP - Sergio Mendes, "The Beat of Brazil", Atlantic #1480 (1967). This was a U.S. release of the Philips Brasil LP "Sergio Mendes and Bossa Rio", #P 632.701 (1964).

Tracklist and Personnel info for both albums in this compilation are listed at the listed sources above.


Sergio Mendes/Quartette Tres Bien, "The Great Arrival"/"Bully!", Collectables #COL6616 (2000).[2-in-1 CD Reissue]

This CD is comprised of two albums by two different artists.

ipanema_front.jpg  ipanema_back.jpg

Paul Winter/Carlos Lyra, "The Sound of Ipanema/Rio", Collectables 2-in-1 CD #COL6672 (2001).[2-in-1 CD Reissue]

Tracklist for "The Sound of Ipanema":

Side One
Side Two
Você E Eu (You and I)
Coisa Mais Linda (The Most Beautiful Thing)
Se E Tarde Me Perdoa (Forgive Me If I'm Late)
O Morro (The Hill)
Maria Ninguém (Maria Nobody)
Mas Também Quem Mandou (What Made Me Do It)
De Quem Ama (For Whom Love)
Tem Do De Mim (Don't Make Me Love)
Quem Quizer Encontrar O Amor

(Whoever Wants to Find Love)

Lôbo Bôbo (The Big Bad Wolf)

Personnel: Paul Winter, alto saxophone; Carlos Lyra, guitar-vocal; Sergio Mendes, piano; Sebastião Neto, bass; Milton Banana, drums.


Sergio Mendes, "In Person at El Matador"/"Pele"/"My Favorite Things", Collectables #COL6837 (2001).[3-in-1 2-CD Reissue]

Set is comprised of the following albums: "In Person at El Matador", "Pele" Official Movie Soundtrack, and "My Favorite Things".


Sergio Mendes, "Sergio Mendes [1975]"/"Magic Lady", Collectables #COL 7670 (2005).[2-in-1 CD Reissue]

Tracks for "Sergio Mendes [1975]:

I Believe (When I Fall in Love It...
All in Love Is Fair
Let Them Work It Out
Here Comes the Sun
If I Ever Lose This Heaven
Looking for Another Pure Love
Someday We'll All Be Free
You Been Away Too Long

Personnel: Sergio Mendes, keyboards; Original tracks produced by David Grusin and Sergio Mendes; Orchestrated by David Grusin; Vocal Arrangements by Bob Alcivar; Harvey Mason; Drums; David T. Walker; Guitar; Oscar Neves; Guitar; David Amaro; Guitar; Dennis Budimir; Guitar; Bernard Ighner; Guitar; Jerome Richardson; Flute; Chuck Rainey; Bass; Paulinho Da Costa, Percussion; Bonnie Bowden - Vocals; Sondra Catton - Vocals.


Sergio Mendes, "Sergio Mendes ... Featuring 'The Girl From Ipanema' and Other Favorites", Collectables Classics #090431041321 (2006).[5-CD Box Set]

This 5-CD box set from Sergio Mendes includes the Collectables' albums The Great Arrival / Bully!, In Person At El Matador! / Favorite Things / Pele (Original Soundtrack) (2-CD), Sergio Mendes / Magic Lady and The Swinger From Rio / The Beat Of Brazil.

This box set contains many performances by Sergio and also the compositions "Noa Noa" and "Primitivo", also written by Sergio.

Tracks of Disc 1:

1.  The Great Arrival
2.  Monday, Monday
3.  Carnaval
4.  Cancao Do Amanhecer
5.  Here's That Rainy Day
6.  Boranda
7.  Nana
8.  Bonita (Jobim)
9.  Morning
10.  Don't Go Breaking My Heart
11.  Tristeza De Amar
12.  Girl Talk
13.  Bully!
14.  I Never Knew
15.  Caravan

Tracks of Disc 2:

1.  Reza
2.  O Morro (Jobim)
3.  Samba Do Astronauta
4.  Tem Do De Mim
5.  Jodel (Donato)
6.  Samba De Jose
7.  Noa Noa (Mendes)
8.  Black Orpheus Medley: Manha De Carnabal
9.  Arrastao
10.  Vai De Vez
11.  Caminho De Casa
12.  O Coracao Do Rei (The King's Heart)
13.  Meu Mundo E Uma Bola (Main Theme) "My World Is A Ball"
14.  Memorias (Memories)
15.  Nascimento (Birth)
16.  I've Never Been In Love Before
17.  Work Song
18.  Exodus
19.  Three O'Clock In The Morning
16.  Voltando A Bauru (Back To Bauru)
17.  Cidade Grande (Big City)
18.  Cidade Grande (Big City)
19.  Alma Latina (Latin Soul) (Main Theme) "My World Is A Ball"
20.  A Tristeza Do Adeus (The Sadness Of Goodbye)
21.  A Tristeza Do Ades (The Sadness Of Goodbye)
22.  Na Bahia (In Bahia)
23.  Amor E Agressao (Love And Aggression)
24.  Meu Mundo E Uma Bola (Main Theme) "My World Is A Ball"

Tracks of Disc 3:

1.  My Favorite Things
2.  Tempo Feliz (Happy Times)
3.  Ponteio
4.  Veleiro (The Sailboat)
5.  A Banda (Parade)
6.  I Say A Little Prayer
7.  Comin' Home Baby
8.  Boa Palavra (The Good Word)
9.  O Mar E Meu Chao (The Sea Is My Soil)
10.  So What's New

Tracks of Disc 4:

1.  Davy
2.  I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)
3.  All In Love Is Fair
4.  Let Them Work It Out
5.  Here Comes The Sun
6.  If I Ever Lose This Heaven
7.  Lookin' For Another Pure Love
8.  Someday We'll All Be Free
9.  You Been Away Too Long
10.  The Trouble With Hello Is Goodbye
11.  I'll Tell You
12.  Lonely Woman
13.  You Get Your Love From Me
14.  Magic Lady
15.  Yes I Love You
16.  A Dream Come True (Can't Hardly Wait)
17.  Let It Go
18.  Summer Dream

Tracks of Disc 5:

1.  Maria Moita
2.  Sambinha Bossa Nova
3.  Batida Diferente
4.  So Danco Samba (Jobim)
5.  Pau Brazil
6.  The Girl From Ipanema (Jobim)
7.  Useless Panorama (Jobim)
8.  The Dreamer (Jobim)
9.  Primavera
10.  Consolaco
11.  Favela
12.  Nana
13.  Amor Em Paz (Love In Peace) (Jobim)
14.  Garota De Ipanema (The Girl From Ipanema) (Jobim)
15.  Coisa No. 2
16.  Primitivo (Mendes)
17.  Ela E Carioca (She's A Carioca) (Jobim)
18.  Corcovado (Jobim)
19.  Noa Noa (Mendes)
20.  Desafinado (Jobim)
21.  Neurotico

Back to Recording Index

Back to Site Index

Back to Home Page