Antonio Carlos Jobim - Verve (continued)


Various Artists, "Novabossa, Red Hot on Verve!", Verve #535 884 (1996).[CD Compilation]

Antonio Carlos Jobim plays guitar and does vocals on this album.

Joao Gilberto, "Waters of March", Verve #837 589 (1997).[CD]
No album photo available at this time.

Includes this Jobim composition: Aguas De Março.


Antonio Carlos Jobim, "Jazz 'Round Midnight", Verve #539 677 (1998).[CD Compilation]


Amor Em Paz
So Danço Samba
Samba De Uma Nota So
O Morrow Nao Tem Vez
Anos Dourados
Chega De Saudade
O Grande Amor

Personnel includes: Antonio Carlos Jobim (vocals, piano, guitar); João Gilberto (vocals, guitar); Astrud Gilberto (vocals); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Jimmy Cleveland (trombone); Leo Wright, Bud Shank (flute); João Donato (piano); Luiz Bonfa, Pat Metheny (guitar); Joe Mondragon, George Duvivier, Tommy Williams (bass); Jose Carlos (drums, percussion); Paulo Ferreira (drums); Milton Banana (percussion).

The New Band: Danilo Caymmi (vocals, flute); Paulo Jobim (vocals, guitar); Maucha Adnet, Simone Caymmi, Ana Lontra Jobim, Elizabeth Jobim, Paula Morelenbaum (vocals); Jaques Morelenbaum (cello); Sebastiao Neto (bass); Paulo Braga (drums).

Producers: Creed Taylor, Paulo Jobim, Jaques Morelenbaum, Richard Seidel, Don Sickler.

Includes liner notes by Richard Ginell.


Various Artists, "Quiet Now:  Nights of Quiet Stars", Verve #559733 (1999).[CD Compilation]

Jobim compositions included on this CD Compilation are:
Amor Em Paz
Vivo Sonhando
O Morro Não Tem Vez
Looks Like December
Inútil Paisagem

Digitally remastered by Fred W. Meyer (Polygram Studios).

This is part of Verve's Quiet Now series.

Compilation producer: Richard Seidel.

Personnel: Antonio Carlos Jobim, Joao Gilberto (vocals, guitar); Elis Regina, Maria Toledo, Astrud Gilberto (vocals); Stan Getz, Joe Henderson (tenor saxophone); Luiz Bonfa (guitar).

Producers include: Aloysio De Oliveira, Paulo Jobim, Jacques Morelenbaum, Richard Seidel, Don Sickler.


Various Artists, "A Trip To Brazil/Bossa, Samba & Beyond", Verve #545 475-1 (2000).[2 LP set]

This 2-LP set, exclusively available on vinyl, is a Best Of compilation of the 2-CD sets A Trip To Brazil Vol.1: 40 Years of Bossa Nova and A Trip To Brazil Vol.2: Bossa & Beyond.

Includes the following Jobim songs:

Side A, Track 1 - Sergio Mendes & Bossa Rio: Ela E Carioca (Jobim)

In his liner notes, Mr. DeSouteiro wrote:

At the time of its release in 1964, this album had the impact of a hurricane. A new kind of bossa concept was born, and it appealed much more to the jazz-influenced musicians than had the first aesthetic of a guitar, a stool and a voice. Instead of intimate moods, a fiery approach, with jazzy energetic solos. Subtitled Voce Ainda Nao Ouviu Nada (You Haven't Heard Nothing Yet!), it included arrangements by Jobim, Meirelles and Mendes.


Side A, Track 2 - Roberto Menescal: Só Danço Samba (Jobim/Vinicius de Moraes)

In his liner notes, Mr. DeSouteiro wrote:

Menescal's debut album at Elenco (he had previously recorded one LP for a smaller label, Imperial) attracted special attention, not only due to guitarist's writing talents but also for Deodato's inventive arrangements for bossa classics by other composers. Such is the case with this So Danço Samba version, propelled by a contagious pulsation.


Side A, Track 5 - Eumir Deodato: Surfboard (Jobim)

In his liner notes, Mr. DeSouteiro wrote:

A rarity from the Girl from Ipanema movie. Deodato, who, at Jobim's request, orchestrated all the original score, took the leading role on this beautiful tune, previously recorded on The Wonderful World of Antonio Carlos Jobim (arranged by Nelson Riddle) and A Certain Mr. Jobim (arr. by Ogerman). However, Jobim remained discontent with both versions, and his last hope was Deodato's score, which he approved with immense happiness. Later on, Deodato would prepare another great arrangement for Surfboard, including it on Walter Wanderley's When It Was Done album.

Compiled, annotated and produced by Arnaldo DeSouteiro.

Astrud Gilberto, "The Bossa Nova Story", Verve/PolyGram [Japan] #557 533 (1998). [CD compilation]

This is a 3-disc box set featuring several of Verve's Bossa recording artists.   Antonio Carlos Jobim plays guitar, piano, sound effects, and does vocals on this compilation.


Various Artists, "Next Stop Wonderland" (Movie Soundtrack), Verve #3145575502 (1998).[CD]

Includes Jobim performances of "Corcovado" (on piano), and "Desafinado". 

Album includes these Jobim compositions:  Triste, One Note Samba/The Girl From Ipanema, Corcovado, Desafinado.

  Back to Recordings Index

Back to Site Index

Back to Home Page