Antonio Carlos Jobim - Rhino


Various Artists, "Dick Bartley's One Hit Wonders of the '60s, Vol. 1", Rhino #70995 (1990).[CD Compilation].

This compilation includes "The Girl From Ipanema" by Jobim and features Jobim on piano.

evolution_front.jpg  evolution_back.jpg

Herbie Mann, "The Evolution of Mann: The Herbie Mann Anthology", Rhino #8122-71634-2 (1994).[CD Reissue Compilation]

Personnel: includes Sergio Mendes--Piano; Antonio Carlos Jobim, piano-vocal-arranger-conductor.


Various Artists, "Cocktail Mix #2: Martini Madness", Rhino Records #72238 (1996).[CD Compilation]

Antonio Carlos Jobim composed some of the tracks on this album.

Dusty Springfield, "Dusty in London", Rhino #R2 75581 (1999).[CD]

Contains Recordings/Rhino from 1968-1971.

Includes Jobim's "Come for a Dream" (Estrada do Sol).


Sergio Mendes, "The Swinger From Rio", Rhino [Argentina] #275443 (2004).[CD Reissue]

This CD Reissue features several Jobim compositions as well as Jobim himself on guitar on all but one track.


Maria Moita
Sambinha Bossa Nova
Batida Diferente
So Danço Samba (Jobim)
Pau Brazil
The Girl from Ipanema (Jobim)
Useless Panorama (Jobim)
The Dreamer (Jobim)
Favela (Jobim)

Musician personnel: On "The Girl From Ipanema", "Useless Panorama" and "Sambinha Bossa Nova", the personnel is: Sergio Mendes, piano; Antonio Carlos Jobim, guitar; Tiao Netto, bass; Chico DeSouza, drums; & Art Farmer, fluegelhorn. The personnel is the same on "Maria Moita", "The Dreamer", & "So Danco Samba", except that Phil Woods, alto sax, replaces Art Farmer. Hubert Laws, flute, replaces Phil Woods on "Primavera", "Favela", "Batida Diferente" & "Pau Brazil". The personnel on "Consolacao" is: Sergio Mendes, piano; Tiao Netto, bass; Chico DeSouza, drums.


Antonio Carlos Jobim, "The Warner Brothers Years", Rhino [UK] #277675 (2006).[CD Compilation]


    1.    She's a Carioca
    2.    Agua de Beber
    3.    Surfboard
    4.    Bonita
    5.    Felicidade, A
    6.    Favela
    7.    Hurry up and Love Me (Preciso de Voce)
    8.    Berimbau
    9.    Neptune's Hep Tune (Morte de Undeus de Jal)
    10.    Face I Love (Seu Encanto)
    11.    Pardon My English (Samba Torto)
    12.    Off Key (Desafinado)
    13.    Once Again (Outra Vez)
    14.    Correnteza (The Stream)
    15.    Boto (Porpoise)
    16.    Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Corcovado)
    17.    Girl From Ipanema 
    18.    Double Rainbow
    19.    One Note Samba
    20.    Someone to Light up My Life (Se Todos Fossem Iguais a Voce)


Frank Sinatra, "Nothing But the Best", Rhino [UK] #8122799345 (2008).[CD Compilation]

This CD Compilation contains the Jobim composition "The Girl From Ipanema", which he sings with Sinatra.

OriginalAlbumSeries.jpg  OriginalAlbumSeries-b.jpg

Antonio Carlos Jobim, "Antonio Carlos Jobim - Original Album Series", Rhino Records #__________ (2011).[5-CD Boxed Set]

This set includes the entire contents of these albums (all contain compositions and performances by Jobim except for "Love, Strings & Jobim" which contain Jobim compositions and not performances):

The Wonderful World of Antonio Carlos Jobim
Love, Strings & Jobim
A Certain Mr. Jobim (arranged/conducted by Claus Ogerman)
Urubu (arranged/conducted/produced by Claus Ogerman)
Terra Brasilis (arranged/conducted by Claus Ogerman)

The contents and details on each of these albums is listed separately elsewhere on this site.

Back to Recordings Index

Back to Site Index

Back to Home Page