Antonio Carlos Jobim - Capitol Records


Front.JPG  Back.JPG

Leo Peracchi and His Orquestra, "Brazilian Cocktails", Capitol #T-10122 (1958).[LP]

This album contains these Jobim compositions:

Latin Manhattan
Estrada do Sol (omitted from tracklist on album cover back)
Coffee Delight
Moonlight Daiquiri

LINER NOTES (In English, uncredited):


[U.S. LP]

Joao Gilberto, "Brazil's Brilliant Joao Gilberto", Capitol Records ("Capitol of the World" series) #ST-10280 (1960).[LP]


Samba De Uno Nota (Jobim)
So Em Teus Bracos (Jobim)
Trevor De 4 Folhas
Se E Tarde Me Perdoa
Um Abraco No Bonfa
Meditation (Jobim)
O Pato
Corcovado (Jobim)
Discussao (Jobim)
Amor Certinho
Once Again (Jobim)

This album contains several Jobim compositions; in addition, it was recorded with Jobim's Orchestra.
Recorded in Brazil, produced in the USA by Dave Dexter.


George Shearing, "Bossa Nova", Capitol #T-1673 (1963).[LP]
George Shearing, "Bossa Nova", Capitol Records [Japan] #TOCJ-50111 (2011).[CD Reissue]

Includes these Jobim compositions:  "Desafinado", "One Note Samba".

[Original LP]

[2010 CD Reissue]

Laurindo Almeida and The Bossa Nova All Stars, "Viva Bossa Nova", Capitol #ST-1759 (196_).[LP]
Laurindo Almeida and The Bossa Nova All Stars, "Viva Bossa Nova", Capitol #________ (2010).[CD Reissue]

This album contains these Jobim compositions:  "Desafinado" and "One Note Samba".

Musician personnel:
Don Fagerquist, trumpet; Bob Cooper, tenor sax; Justin Gordon, flute; Jimmie Rowles, organ; Laurindo Almeida & Howard Roberts, guitar; Max Bennett, bass; Shelly Manne, Chico Guerrero and Milt Holland, percussion

From Arnaldo DeSouteiro's Jazz Station BlogBrazilian guitar ace Laurindo Almeida leads a studio group called The Bossa Nova All Stars on this date produced by Dave Cavanaugh & Bill Miller, and recorded in Los Angeles, back in December 1962, for the Capitol label.  It's being reissued now in Asia, in a series that celebrates the 50th Anniversary of EMI Music Japan, Inc. The CD cover reproduces the original LP sleeve, with many pics of the musicians and the liner notes by Anthony Corbett.  The repertoire includes only two Brazilian songs, "One Note Samba" and "Desafinado," both co-written by Antonio Carlos Jobim & Newton Mendonça. All others are pop and jazz tunes (by people like Henry Mancini, Billy May and Nelson Riddle) done in latin-tinged arrangements.  Besides his magnificent work on acoustic guitar, Laurindo is heard playing cavaquinho (mispelled "cavaquinha" on the back cover, but presented as "a Brazilian instrument similar to a ukelele" on the credits) in some songs. Among them, Sidney Bechet's "Petite Fleur!"  Another surprise is the presence of jazz pianist Jimmy Rowles playing "electronic organ" exclusively, in a style very similar to Djalma Ferreira's approach to this instrument, with no influence of Jimmy Smith or any other Hammond jazz virtuoso.  The stellar cast also includes drummer Shelly Manne, Howard Roberts and Al Viola alternating on rhythm guitar, Bob Cooper on tenor sax, Justin Gordon showcasing a gorgeous sound on flute, plus Don Fagerquist (trumpet), Max Bennett (bass), and percussionists Milt Holland & Chico Guerrero, pictured playing cabasa and pandeiro, respectively. Nice and mellow.

John Gray, "The Guitar of John Gray:  The New Wave", Capitol Records #ST 1852 (1963).[LP]
Jobim's "One Note Samba" is included in this album.

[U.S. LP]

Peggy Lee, "I'm A Woman", Capitol Records #ST 1857 (1963).[LP]
Jobim's "One Note Samba" is included in this album.

Almeida-allstars.JPG  Almeida-allstarsb.JPG

Label1.png  Label2.png
[U.S. MONO Labels]

Laurindo Almeida and the Bossa Nova All-Stars, "Ole! Bossa Nova!", Capitol #T-1872 / ST-1872 [mono / stereo] (1963).[LP]

The Jobim composition included is Meditation.

[Advertising image from the back cover of another Glen Gray album]

The Glen Gray Casa Loma Orchestra, "Today's Best - The Sounds of the Great Bands - Vol. 7", Capitol #ST-1938 (196_).[LP]

Contains Jobim's "Desafinado".

FrontPS.png  Label1.png  Label2.png
[U.S. LP and U.S. LP Labels]

The Howard Roberts Quartet, "H.R. Is A Dirty Guitar Player", Capitol Records #T-1961 (1963).[LP]
Jobim's "One Note Samba" is included in this album.

Antonio Carlos Jobim & João Gilberto, "Gilberto and Jobim", Capitol Records #ST-2160 (196_).[LP]


Manha de Carnaval

O Pato


Trevo de quatro Folhas

Un abraco no Bonfa

Se e tarde me perdoa


A felicidade

Amor certinho

Outra vez

Samba de uma nota so


So em teus bracos


Contains previously released material.

Same material as "O Amor, o Sorriso e a Flor" plus Manha de Carnaval and A Felicidade from "Joao Gilberto Cantando as Musicas do Filme Orfeo do Carnaval" EP.

Front.JPG  Back.JPG

The Four Freshmen, "More 4 Freshmen and 5 Trombones", Capitol #T-2166 (196_).[LP]

This album contains Jobim's "The Girl From Ipanema".

LINER NOTES (uncredited):


Arranged and conducted by Pete Rugolo.

Produced by Bill Miller.

[Original LP]

[CD Reissue]

Laurindo Almeida, "Guitar From Ipanema", Capitol #ST-2197 (1964).[LP]
Laurindo Almeida, "Guitar From Ipanema", Capitol #TOCP-7907 (19__).[CD]

Includes Jobim's Girl from Ipanema and Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars).

Musicians personnel:

Laurindo Almeida (acoustic and electric guitars)

Al Hendrickson and Jack Marshall (guitars)

Harry Klee and Justin Gordon (flute)

George Fields (harmonica)

Irene Kral (vocal)

Djalma Ferreira (organ)

Fafa Lemos (violin)

Produced by Bill Miller.


Various Artists, "Let's Bacardi Party", Capitol #______ (1964).[LP]

This album contains at least one track composed by Jobim (see tracklist below).


Side 1:
1. This Could Be the Start of Something Big - Jack Jones
2. Fly Me to the Moon - Laurindo Almeida
3. Charade - Ray Anthony (Mancini)
4. On the Street Where You Live - Jonah Jones
5. Woodchopper's Ball - Woody Herman

Side 2:
1. The Girl from Ipanema - Four Freshmen (Jobim)
2. September Song - George Shearing
3. Painted, Tainted Rose - Al Martino
4. End of a Love Affair - Stan Kenton
5. Fools Rush In - Keely Smith
6. Cherry - Harry James

Front.JPG  Back.JPG

George Shearing (The George Shearing Quintet With String Choir), "Here & Now!", Capitol #T-2372 (19__).[LP]

This album contains the Jobim composition "The Girl From Ipanema".

LINER NOTES (uncredited):


Produced by David Cavanaugh.

FrontPS.png  Label1.png  Label2.png
[U.S. LP & Labels]

Guitars Unlimited, "Quiet Nights and Brazilian Guitars", Capitol Records #T-2451 [Mono] (1966).[LP]

Tracks included that are Jobim compositions include:

The Girl From Ipanema
One Note Samba

Musician personnel:  Guitars: Howard Roberts, Bob Bain, Tony Rizzo, Al Hendrickson, Tommy Tedesco, Laurindo Almeida, Rosinha de Valencia and Jack Marshall; Percussion: Shelly Mann and Milt Holland; Bells: Frank Flynn; Bass: Joe Mondragon.

Produced by Jack Marshall and David Cavanaugh.

[LP Reissue]

Label2.png  Label1.png
[LP Reissue Labels]

[Reel to Reel Tape]

Cannonball Adderley and The Bossa Rio Sextet With Sergio Mendes, "Cannonball Adderley and The Bossa Rio Sextet With Sergio Mendes", Capitol #2877 (196_).[LP Reissue]
Cannonball Adderley and The Bossa Rio Sextet With Sergio Mendes, "Cannonball Adderley and The Bossa Rio Sextet With Sergio Mendes", Capitol #YIT 2877 (196_).[Reel To Reel Tape Reissue]

Originally released as "Cannonball's Bossa Nova"
Riverside RM 455 (Mono) 1962
Riverside RS 9455 (Stereo) 1963

This album contains Jobim's compositions "Once I Loved" and "Corcovado".


Cannonball Adderley With Sergio Mendes & The Bossa Rio Sextet, "Cannonball Adderley Con Sergio Mendes Y El Sexteto Bossa Rio", Capitol/EMI Records [Argentina], #T-2877 (1963).[LP Reissue]

This album contains Jobim's compositions "Once I Loved" and "Corcovado".

  Back to Recordings Index

Back to Site Index

Back to Home Page