One of the best things to happen to Brazilian and jazz music: The João Donato Trio, as seen here in 2000:
(left to right) Claudio Slon (drummer), João Donato (piano and composer), Luiz Alvez (bassist).

João Donato - EMI, EMI Gold and EMI-Odeon


Marcos Valle, "Previsao do Tempo", EMI [Japan] #TOCP-65816 (2001).[CD Reissue]

This album includes the first recording of Batuque (aka Nao Tem Nada Nao, composed by Joao Donato and Eumir Deodato for the Donato/Deodato album), after Portuguese lyrics were added to this song by Marcos Valle.

Personnel: Marcos Valle (vocal and electric piano), Jose Roberto Bertrami (synths), Alex Malheiros (bass) and Ivan Conti (drums).  Arranged by J.R. Bertrami.  Bertrami, Malheiros and Conti were the members of "Azymuth" at the time of this album's recording. Orchestrations on tracks 1 and 10 directed by Marcos Valle; on tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11 and 12 by Zé Roberto; and on track 7 by Waltel Branco.

Produced by Milton Miranda.

Production assistant: Paulo Sergio Valle.

Album photos by Paulo Sergio Valle.

Fresca-bn.JPG  Fresca-tracklist.JPG
[2002 Release]

[2008 Reissue]

Various Artists, "Fresca Bossa Nova", EMI [Japan] #TOCP 65985 (2002).[CD Compilation]
Various Artists, "Fresca Bossa Nova", EMI/Toshiba [Japan] #65985 (2008).[CD Compilation Reissue]

This album contains these Donato compositions and performances:
Minha Saudade (unknown performer)
Ate Quem Sabe (performed by Donato)


Various Artists, "Felicidade - A Tribute to João Gilberto", EMI CD #25177 (2003).[CD Compilation]

Includes "Minha Saudade", co-written by João Donato & João Gilberto, and performed by Só Alegria.

Back to Recording Index

Back to Site Index

Back to Home Page